RTO – Registered Training Organisations

Registered training organisations (RTOs) are providers and assessors of nationally recognised training. Only RTOs can issue nationally recognised qualifications.

In order to become registered, training providers must meet the Australian Quality Training Framework 2007 (AQTF 2007) standards. This ensures the quality of Vocational Education and Training (VET) services throughout Australia.

Training organisation register to provide nationally recognised training with its relevant state or territory registration authority.

When registering the RTO must state its scope of registration detailing:

  • the training or assessment it intends to deliver
  • the fields or industries in which it may deliver training or assessment
  • the maximum level of qualifications it may issue.

To ensure an RTO continues to deliver quality training or assessment, its registration must be renewed with the relevant state or territory registering authority at least every five years. The registering authority can audit the RTO at any time during its period of registration.

Types of RTOs

RTOs include TAFE colleges and institutes, adult and community education providers, private providers, community organisations, schools, higher education institutions, commercial and enterprise training providers, industry bodies, and other organisations that meet registration requirements.

All registered training organisations are entered into the National Training Information Service (NTIS) database listing their details and scope of registration.

RTO – Registered Training Organisations

Mike Thomas